Middlebury is conveniently located near the crossroads of I-84 and Route 8 and has eight miles of scenic trails for walking or biking. Visit the locality where General Rochambeau once roamed. Enjoy the quaint small-town feeling you get just by being here. Stay and dine in our charming restaurants. Anywhere you want to go, Middlebury takes you there because a visit to Middlebury is always one to remember.
The town of Morris consists of rolling hill country surrounding Bantam Lake, the largest natural lake in the State. Morris was settled about 1723 and organized in 1767 as the South Farms parish of Litchfield. Morris was initially a farming community. It was incorporated as a separate town in 1859 and named for James Morris (1752–1820) a Revolutionary War soldier, who opened an academy in town in 1790. The ruins of the academy sit adjacent to the current James Morris Elementary school. Morris played a role in the Revolutionary War with many homes serving as quarters for revolutionaries from Maine and Vermont during their journey south to battles in New York.
Naugatuck spans both sides of the Naugatuck River and includes the communities of Union City on the east side of the river, which has its own post office, Straitsville on the southeast (along Route 63, and Millville on the west (along Rubber Avenue). The town common features 11 commissions by the renowned New York architecture firm of McKim, Mead & White.
Naugatuck began as a farming community but as the Industrial Revolution took hold, Naugatuck became a mill town with rubber as the chief manufactured product. The United States Rubber Company (renamed Uniroyal Inc. in 1961) was founded in Naugatuck in 1892 as a consolidation of nine rubber companies, and maintained their corporate headquarters there until the 1980s.
Naugatuck has been used as a filming location for works such as Engine Trouble, released in 2002, and War of the Worlds, filmed at the former Uniroyal plant and released in 2005.
Located on the New York border, with the City of Danbury to the south, the Town of Sherman to the north, and Candlewood Lake to the east, New Fairfield is a community of approximately 14,000 residents, and 25.1 square miles. It was incorporated in 1740. It is the home of Squantz Pond State Park and Candlewood Lake. It is a well known summer vacation community. Major commuting routes includes State Routes 37 and 39 and Milltown Road from New York State.
New Hartford is a small, close-knit community located in the northwest corner of the state of Connecticut. It is bordered by Torrington to the west, Barkhamsted to the north, Canton to the east, and Burlington and Harwinton to the south.
The Farmington River traverses the downtown area, providing scenic beauty to all who frequent the quaint shops and businesses located there. In the spring, fly fishermen can be seen casting their lines in one of Connecticut's most well known catch-and-release areas. The summer brings kids of all ages to this river to experience the thrill of riding the rapids on a tube or in a kayak, available for rent from local vendors.
Fall brings its own charm to New Hartford. Residents and visitors flock to the antique shops in the area while enjoying the spectacular colors of the foliage-covered rolling hills surrounding the town. Ski enthusiasts are drawn to New Hartford to Ski Sundown that has a range of slopes for beginners to advanced skiers.
New Milford is located in Litchfield County on the western border of Connecticut in the beautiful Housatonic Valley. New Milford is the largest town by area in the state, consisting of approximately 40,321 acres or 64 square miles. New Milford is a few miles north of I-84 and is approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes from Manhattan.
Roger Sherman lived in New Milford before moving to New Haven in 1761. He later became a member of the Continental Congress and signed both the Declaration of Independence and U.S. Constitution. The lot of his former house is the site of the present Town Hall.
Communities that make up New Milford include Gaylordsville, Merwinsville, Merryall and Northville.
Newtown is a scenic "small town" located in Fairfield County in southwestern Connecticut, about sixty miles from New York City. Newtown is bordered on the south by Easton and Redding, on the north by Bridgewater and Southbury, on the east by Oxford and Monroe, and on the west by Bethel and Brookfield. Newtown is traversed by Interstate 84, U.S. routes 6 and 302 and Connecticut routes 25 and 34. It covers 38,644 acres or 60.38 square miles, making it the fifth largest town, area-wise, in the state. Newtown was established in 1711 and is comprised of the Borough, Sandy Hook, Hawleyville, Botsford and Dodgingtown "neighborhoods".
The Town Seal may include the rooster weathervane located atop The Meeting House but for many, the symbol of Newtown is the 110 foot flagpole (10 foot is underground) in the middle of Main Street. In the winter, the 12 foot by 18 foot American flag is flown but in the spring, the beautiful 20 foot by 30 foot summer flag is raised by the Newtown Hook & Ladder Fire Company.
The Borough of Newtown, located in the central area of Newtown encompasses an area of approximately 1,252 acres or one square mile.
The Borough was incorporated in 1824 by an act of the Connecticut General Assembly. It is a unique self-governing municipal unit, one of only nine Boroughs located in the State of Connecticut.
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills, this rural town, established in 1758, contains within its boundaries three state parks plus 16 miles of hiking trails maintained by the Norfolk Land Trust. Both residents and visitors to Norfolk enjoy its beauty throughout the seasons. Norfolk is home to the summer session of the Yale School of Music and Art as well as the Norfolk Chamber Music Festival and popular Infinity Hall & Bistro. This community of 1,667 residents has its own monthly newspaper, an excellent school, acclaimed library and historical museum, curling club and country club, a successful farmers market and several fine inns and restaurants.
North Canaan is located at the junctions of Route 44 and Route 7 in the northwest corner of Connecticut. The town was incorporated in 1858 when it separated from the Town of Canaan (Falls Village). The town is governed by a Board of Selectmen, Board of Finance and traditional New England style Town Meeting.
The Canaan Railroad Station is where the east-west tracks connecting Hartford, Connecticut and Poughkeepsie, NY (and beyond to Campbell Hall, NY where connections were made to the west with other railroads) cross the north-south tracks connecting Danbury, Connecticut and Pittsfield, Massachusetts. The station, completed in 1872 is the oldest railroad station in continuous service in the United States.
Lime quarries have been a major part of Canaan's economy for more than a century. Today, most of the mining is done by Mineral Technologies, which extracts product from a huge quarry located on Lower Road. Other mining operations include sand and gravel operations located throughout the town.
Located in southwestern Connecticut, Oxford is a small, rural town that continues to grow and progress, even in today's economy.With a new state-of-the-art high school, major real estate and industrial development, infrastructure improvements, the Oxford Greens public golf course, numerous recreational parks and activities and a busy airport, there is a lot going on in Oxford.
Oxford was incorporated in 1798 and consists of Quaker Farms and Riverside. Southford Falls State Park is a popular recreation area and the 10.4-mile Larkin Bridle Trail, created in the 1940s from the path of a former train track, is one of the earliest examples of the "rails-to-trails" movement. The Waterbury-Oxford Airport, with the second largest runway in CT is located in Oxford and Middlebury.