144 West Main Street, Waterbury, CT 06702. Phone: 203-753-0381 Ext. 10.
On Sunday, 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. The Women’s Glass Cutting Department at Tiffany Studios was formed as a result of a city-wide strike of the Lead Glazier’s and Glass Cutting Union in 1892. The original six workers, headed by Clara Driscoll grew to thirty-five workers in less than two years. The women, known as “The Tiffany Girls,” selected and cut glass for windows, mosaics, and leaded-glass lampshades. They were recognized for their nimble fingers, infinite patience, and sensitivity toward nuances of color. The Women’s Glass Cutting Department can be credited with the execution of many important works, including windows and mosaics for the international expositions in Chicago in 1893 and Paris in 1900, as well as iconic Tiffany Lamps. According to the traditions of the day, when a woman became engaged or married, she had to leave Tiffany’s employ. As a result there was a constant turnover in the department. Clara Driscoll, herself, married in September of 1909, thus putting her work with Tiffany Studios behind her. Nina Gray is the co-author of A New Light on Tiffany, Clara Driscoll and the Tiffany Girls. The lecture will be followed by a reception. Suggested Donation: $10. All donations will support the Julia Q. Keggi Endowment Fund at the Mattatuck Museum. RSVP: (203) 753-0381 x10.