Newtown has more pre-1825 houses than any town in the state; many date from the early 1700's. Today, a walk along Main St. (Rte. 25), once an Indian trail, is the best way to admire the many architectural styles of historic homes and buildings found here.
Begin at the Hillbrow House (74 Main St.) c.1760 whose occupants watched the French Army Encampment of General Rochambeau in 1781. Local lore tells us that the smell of baking bread that Hillbrow's owner withheld from the visiting French soldiers made an angry solider pull an elderly man from the house and chase him up and down Main Street!
One of many architectural gems is the house at 68 Main St. built by Capt. Thomas Bennit in 1729. Just beyond the Bennit House, is the Soldiers and Sailors Monument erected in 1931 by Mary Hawley in honor of Newtown's fighting men and women.
Across the street is Blackman Tavern (61 Main St.) that was a popular stop during the stagecoach era. A Liberty Pole once stood in front of this house. Next, is a lovely colonial (62 Main St.) built in 1785 by Henry Wood who gathered clothing for the men of Newtown serving in the Continental Army.
A few doors down, is the classic Edmond Town Hall, on the National Register of Historic Places, that was built by Mary Hawley in 1930, and named after her grandfather.